What's Cool In Road Cycling

Olympics’12 Men’s TT: Here We Go Wiggo!

Race Report: Bradley Wiggins was always the favourite for today’s Olympic time trial Gold Medal, but he was by far the fastest man out of and into Hampton Park Palace. He was run close by Germany’s Tony Martin and countryman; Chris Froome, but it was Gold Wiggins all the way to the line.

44 kilometres face the Men in the Olympic individual time trial, as usual the most likely winner was to come from the last ten riders to leave the start house in the grounds of the stately home; Hampton Court Palace. First man off was Mouhcine Lahsaini from Morocco at 14:15 (BST) and the rest followed at one and a half minute intervals to fair sized crowd, for a Wednesday afternoon.

The course was set over a rolling course with a few technical corners; Jack Bauer of New Zealand found one corner a bit sharp and nearly gave some spectators a very close look at the Garmin-Sharp pro. Unluckiest rider had to Spain’s National time trial champion; Luis Leon Sanchez who snapped his chain when he kicked out of the starters hands.

Last man off Fabian Cancellara launched himself down the ramp homing to make up for his disappointment in the road race; his white Trek with matching rear disk looked fast. First time of Lahsaini was 57:26, but he was soon beaten by Tomas Gil Martinez of Venezuela with 57:05. Out on the course; Ryder Hesjedal (Canada) was caught by Spain’s Jon Castroviejo.

At the first time check; Tony Martin was leading from Wiggins, with Cancellara 5 seconds adrift. Sanchez had more trouble and needed a new wheel as he had no bikes left; Taylor Phinney passed him at the side of the road.

2nd Time Check at 18.5K:
Rogers: 24:02.
Froome: 23:38.
Phinney: 23:59.
Martin: 23:25.
Wiggins: 23:14
Cancellara: 23:45.

Was there ever really any doubt?

The timing today was as bad as on the road race on Sunday, so keeping track of times was just as difficult. Fumy Beppu (Japan) took the lead with a great time of 55:40, again it didn’t last long as Lars Bak put up a great time of 54:33. Vino; the Olympic road race champion finished his (allegedly) last race in 55:37. Castroviejo took the fastest time at this point with 53:29, he punched the air with satisfaction, but he had some very fast men still to come home.

At the second time check; Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins (GB) flew through 9 seconds faster than Tony Martin with Chris Froome a further 24 seconds slower. The tall Englishman had the Gold Medal in his sight and, of course, had the fans behind him.

3rd Time Check at 29K:
Froome: 35:25.
Martin: 35:06.
Wiggins: 34:44.
Cancellara: 36:03.

The 3rd time check just confirmed how fast Wiggins was travelling, he caught the unlucky Sanchez who must have wished he had stayed at home and ridden the Vuelta a Burgos starting today. Michael Rogers took the new fastest time; 52:51, but he had been down at all the time checks, although a top five place amongst this line-up wouldn’t be too shabby.

Chris Froome 51:47 was next to top the leader board, Tony Martin could see Taylor Phinney on the long finishing straight, the young American put up a time of 52:38 with Martin 51:22 to be the new leader.

Wiggins, Martin, Froome – the 2012 London Olympic Games time trial podium.

Bradley Wiggins was motoring and came round the last corner in no time behind the German; his time of 50:39 could not be beaten by the ailing Cancellara. The crowd new it and sang out “here we go Wiggo!” Wiggins seem worried about Cancellara and sent a team helper to check on the Swiss rider’s time, he had nothing to worry about as Fabians’ time of 52:53 didn’t come close.

So Team GB got its Gold Medal, they had planned on two, but road racing sometimes doesn’t go to plan. Wiggins was by far the fastest man and a deserving Olympic Champion.

Men’s Olympic Time Trial Result:
Gold. Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) in 50:39.54
Silver. Tony Martin (Germany) at 0:42.00
Bronze. Christopher Froome (GB) at 1:08.33
4. Taylor Phinney (USA) at 1:58.53
5. Marco Pinotti (Italy) at 2:09.74
6. Michael Rogers (Australia) at 2:11.85
7. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) at 2:14.17
8. Bert Grabsch (Germany) at 2:38.50
9. Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spain) at 2:49.82
10. Janez Brajkovic (Slovenia) at 3:30.18.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.