What's Cool In Road Cycling
San Sebastian - Spain - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - ALAPHILIPPE Julian (FRA) of Quick - Step Floors pictured during the 38th Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian 2018 - photo Luis Gomez/Cor Vos © 2018

Clásica San Sebastián’18: Alaphilippe – Txapela!

Race Report: With all his form from the Tour de France, Quick-Step Floors’ Julian Alaphilippe got the better of his break-away companion, Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) to win the 2018 Clásica San Sebastián – Donostia Klasikoa. French champion, Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ), won the sprint for third place from the chase group 16 seconds down on the escape pair.

Alaphilippe had the jump

Alaphilippe and Mollema escaped on the Murgil Tontorra climb with around 10 kilometers to go. The chase group containing: Greg Van Avermaet (BMC), Rigoberto Uran (Education First-Drapac), Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida), Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ) and the three riders from LottoNL-Jumbo; Robert Gesink, Steven Kruijswijk and Antwan Tolhoek had no chance to pull the pair back before the finish in the Basque town. Roux took 3rd place ahead of Olympic champion, Van Avermaet.

Bad news for Mikel Landa (Movistar) and Egan Bernal (Sky), the pair were caught in a big pile-up with 20 kilometers to go. Both riders were taken to hospital.

A tough 229 Basque kilometers with eight classified climbs

6th place for Rigoberto Uran (Education Firts-Drapac) – He looks to have recovered from his crash in the Tour de France

Antwan Tolhoek tried to split the break

Bauka Mollema made the winning move on the final climb

Alaphilippe had the sprint from Mollema

3rd place went to French champion Anthony Roux (Groupama-FDJ)

Congratulations for Bauke Mollema

A happy and successful Julian Alaphilippe

2018 Clásica San Sebastián podium

Julian looked good in his Txapela

Clásica San Sebastián Result:
1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors in 6:03:45
2. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
3. Anthony Roux (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 0:16
4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC
5. Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis
6. Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
7. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida
8. Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
9. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
10. Antwan Tolhoek (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
11. Rudy Molard (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 0:20
12. Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates at 0:43
13. Toms Skujins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo at 0:48
14. Igor Anton (Spa) Dimension Data at 0:49
15. Daryl Impey (RSA) Mitchelton-Scott at 0:51
16. Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
17. Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
18. Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana
19. James Knox (GB) Quick-Step Floors
20. Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal
21. Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis
22. Alex Aranburu Deba (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
23. Pieter Serry (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
24. Omar Fraile (Spa) Astana at 0:52
25. Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.