What's Cool In Road Cycling
Schoten - Belgium - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Fabio Jakobsen (Netherlands / Team Deceuninck - Quick Step) - Max Walscheid (Germany / Team Sunweb) pictured during the 107th Scheldeprijs (1.HC) a one day race from Borsele to Schoten (202.3KM) - photo Davy Rietbergen/Cor Vos © 2019

Scheldeprijs’19: Jakobsen Jumps For Two In A Row!

Race Report: Deceuninck – Quick-Step’s Fabio Jakobsen was the fastest in the final sprint in the 107th edition of the Scheldeprijs on Wednesday afternoon. For the second year in a row the 22-year-old Dutchman was the best man in the Belgian semi-classic. Max Walscheid (Sunweb) was second and Sky’s Chris Lawless was third.

The race along the River Schelde started fast, but Kenneth Vanbilsen and Tom Wirtgen managed to escape. The pair were soon caught and the peloton split into echelons due to the wind. The front group of more than thirty riders took a lead of 30 seconds and did not make life easy for the chasers.

By the half way mark; Brian van Goethem and Dries De Bondt made an attack as the peloton eased to allow the groups come together again. The pair did get nearly a minute, but they were also pulled back. At 125 kilometers the race was all in one group.

Kenneth Vanbilsen and Dries De Bondt were on the attack again and after 140 kilometers they had pulled clear of a compact peloton with all the sprinters ready for the big finish.

At the start of the last of two local laps in Schoten; Vanbilsen and De Bondt had a slim 19 seconds with 17 kilometers to go to the finish. De Bondt was the strongest and tried to go solo, both were eventually caught. Edvald Boasson Hagen made a move with Lionel Taminiaux in tow.

The Norwegian and Belgian tandem started the final 10 kilometers with a small lead, but it was too fast for Taminiaux. Boasson Hagen fought hard to hold his lead on the peloton, but he too was scooped up by the sprinter’s teams.

Deceuninck – Quick-Step was pulling for Jakobsen and Bora-Hansgrohe for Ackermann as they came under the final kilometer flag. Like last year, Fabio Jakobsen proved to be the strongest in the finalé for his second win of the season after a stage victory in the Volta ao Algarve.

Scheldeprijs Result:
1. Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck – Quick-Step in 4:26:45
2. Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Sunweb
3. Christopher Lawless (GB) Sky
4. Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Cofidis
5. Roy Jans (Bel) Corendon-Circus
6. Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Vital Concept-B&B Hotel
7. Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha-Alpecin
8. Emils Liepins (Lat) Wallonie Bruxelles
9. Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
10. Matteo Moschetti (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
11. Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) Vital Concept-B&B Hotel
12. Maarten van Trijp (Ned) Corendon-Circus
13. Nicolai Philip Brochner Nielsen (Den) Riwal Readynez Cycling Team
14. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Gobert
15. Amaury Capiot (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
16. Lawrence Naesen (Bel) Lotto Soudal
17. Daniel McLay (GB) EF Education First
18. Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Wallonie Bruxelles
19. Enzo Wouters (Bel) Lotto Soudal
20. Romain Cardis (Fra) Direct Energie
21. André Greipel (Ger) Arkéa Samsic
22. Kenneth Van Rooy (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
23. Casper Pedersen (Den) Sunweb
24. Zakkari Dempster (Aus) Israel Cycling Academy
25. Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.