What's Cool In Road Cycling

TOUR’18 Stage 8: Groenewegen Grabs Gold Again

Photo Book: When you’re hot, you’re hot, and LottoNL-Jumbo’s Dylan Groenewegen stoked his winning form of yesterday with another perfectly timed jump to win the sprint into Amiens for stage 8 of the 2018 Tour de France. After 181 processional kilometers, perhaps the best part of the day for fans is this gallery of the day’s best shots from pro photog Cor Vos.

Maybe the most selfied rider in the bunch – Peter Sagan was making fans’ days at the start.

Time to roll out for 181 flat kms across northern France, under beautiful skies.  With riders saving themselves for tomorrow’s battle on the cobbles of Roubaix, most teams scheduled this day as “active recovery”.

Eventually a break formed with Marco Minnaard of Wanty – Groupe Gobert and Fabien Greiller of Direct Energie…

Meanwhile, back in the “slower than the slowest time checks” moving bunch, riders had plenty of time to shoot the breeze.

And Maillot Jaune Greg Van Avermaet had a relaxed day.

Alas, the race photogs looked for interesting ways to cover the stage…

Into the finale – Groenwegen, Greipel, Kristoff, Sagan, Degenkolb  & Gaviria duked it out, with Greipel & Gaviria getting too close at one point and being relegated from their initial spots of 2nd and 3rd.  But Groenewgen was clear to win, and Sagan was happy with another podium appearance.

Results: Tour de France 2018 Stage 8
1. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo in 4:23:36
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
3. John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
4. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
5. Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
6. Thomas Boudat (Fra) Direct Energie
7. Nikias Arndt (Ger) Sunweb
8. Mark Cavendish (GB) Dimension Data
9. Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
10. Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
11. Daniel Oss (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
12. Timothy Dupont (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
13. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
14. Taylor Phinney (USA) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
15. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin
16. Dion Smith (NZ) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
17. Geraint Thomas (GB) Sky
18. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
19. Chris Froome (GB) Sky
20. Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
21. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar
22. Laurent Pichon (Fra) Fortuneo-Samsic
23. Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida
24. Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Sunweb
25. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Movistar.

Overall Standings After Stage 8
1. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC IN 32:43:00
2. Geraint Thomas (GB) Sky at 0:07
3. Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC at 0:09
4. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors at 0:16
5. Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors at 0:22
6. Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 0:49
7. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0:55
8. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:56
9. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana at 0:57
10. Richie Porte (Aus) BMC
11. Mikel Landa (Spa) Movistar at 0:59
12. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 1:06
13. Adam Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott
14. Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Sunweb at 1:07
15. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 1:12
16. Primoz Roglic (Slo) LottoNL-Jumbo at 1:21
17. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 1:22
18. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors at 1:26
19. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb at 1:27
20. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 1:30
21. Egan Bernal (Col) Sky at 1:34
22. Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:49
23. Warren Barguil (Fra) Fortuneo-Samsic at 2:01
24. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 2:06
25. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida at 2:12.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.