What's Cool In Road Cycling
Fermoselle - Spain - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Elia Viviani (ITA - QuickStep - Floors) - Peter Sagan (SVK - Bora - Hansgrohe) - Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA - Trek - Segafredo) pictured during 73rd La Vuelta ciclista a España (2.UWT) Stage 10 from Salamanca. VIII Centenario Universidad de Salamanc to Fermoselle. Bermillo de Sayago (177 KM) - photo LB/RB/Cor Vos © 2018

VUELTA’18 Stage 10: Viviani Vuelta Victory No.2!

Stage Report: Just to prove that not every stage of the Vuelta a España can be exciting; stage 10 took in the flat land towards the Portuguese border to deliver Quick-Step Floors’ Elia Viviani over the finish line for his second Vuelta stage win of 2018. Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) held his overall 1 second advantage on Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) to stay in the red jersey.

With a perfect lead-out from his Quick-Step Floors teammates, Elia Viviani out-sprinted World champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) in Fermoselle after a fairly quiet day on long, flat, straight roads following the Spanish/Portuguese border North. The Romans must have been busy building roads in this area.

Stage 10 from Salamanca to Fermoselle. Bermillo de Sayago:
Declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the city of Salamanca is characterized by its Renaissance architecture and its busy university life. A cultural and knowledge nerve centre during the Middle Ages, its humanistic heritage attracted literary figures from all over the world, as it continues to do today with students from all over Europe. In La Vuelta, it specializes in hosting time-trial stages, crowning such important riders as Ullrich, Froome and Tony Martin. In 2018, it will return to the discipline of linear stages by hosting its twenty-first departure from its streets. According to traditional Zamora legends, the legendary leader Viriato, a scourge of the Roman Empire in the 2nd century BC, was born in the Sayago area. Viriato’s tenacity and combative spirit will be fundamental in helping the peloton complete the stage and cross the unprecedented finish-line at Bermillo de Sayago.

Daniel Martin says goodbye to the Vuelta
Daniel Martin did not start stage 10 of the Vuelta a España, due to the imminent arrival of his and Jess (Dan’s wife) twins.

Father to be – Dan Martin

UAE Team Emirates’ rider explained: “After consultation with the team and doctors in Andorra, we have come to the decision it is best for me to travel home to Andorra in order to support my wife with the imminent arrival of our twin girls. This Vuelta has been a great experience to race in as a teammate to this strong and young team, and to be able to offer my full support to Fabio. Although the race didn’t produce the results that I expected, I really enjoyed acting as a road captain to this young group. But the time has now come, slightly earlier than we anticipated, to head home and to support my wife in this incredibly exciting period of our lives. I have to say thank you to my teammates for their support and understanding, as it is not easy to leave them behind. I would also like to offer a big thank you to the team management for being so supportive and allowing me the opportunity to race this Vuelta a España even with the knowledge that I could be called home at any moment”

There was quite a battle before an escape was formed on stage 10, but after 8 fast kilometers, Jesus Ezquerra (Burgos-BH) made a solo attempt and quickly opened a 2 minute lead as other’s tried to get across to him. Katusha-Alpecin’s Tiago Machado was the only rider to manage to join Ezquerra, after 30km of effort.

The duo built up a 4 minute lead with 110km to go, but the sprinters’ teams were not going to allow them any more time. Elia Viviani’s Quick-Step Floors, Nacer Bouhanni’s Cofidis, Peter Sagan’s Bora-Hansgrohe and Giacomo Nizzolo’s Trek-Segafredo had control of the peloton. With 50 kilometers remaining the gap was down to 2 minutes.

The lead was down to 1:14 at the bottom of the climb of the day, the Alto de Fermoselle, when Bora-Hansgrohe pushed the speed up. Machado tried to go on his own but the peloton caught him 2 kilometers from the summit, 30 kilometers from the finish.

Diego Rubio (Burgos-BH) jumped from the peloton with 22km to go, but he never had more than 20 seconds and the bunch caught him 9km out. Quick-Step Floors had their men on the front for Elia Viviani for the perfect lead-out for his second stage win in the 2018 Vuelta. Peter Sagan took his third 2nd place and the green points jersey. Simon Yates had an easy day to retain his overall lead of 1 second over Alejandro Valverde and 14 seconds on Niro Quintana (Movistar).

• Note: Canadian readers can watch the Vuelta LIVE with a subscription at Flobikes.com

Vuelta a España Stage 10 result:
1. Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors in 4:08:08
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
3. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
4. Nelson Andres Soto Martinez (Col) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
5. Marc Sarreau (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
6. Danny van Poppel (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
7. Ivan Garcia (Spa) Bahrain-Merida
8. Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias
9. Simone Consonni (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
10. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Mitchelton-Scott
11. Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
12. Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto Soudal
13. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis
14. Luis Guillermo Mas Bonet (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
15. Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
16. Max Walscheid (Ger) Sunweb
17. Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
18. Michael Schwarzmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
19. Eduard Prades Reverter (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias
20. Jordi Simon Casulleras (Spa) Burgos-BH
21. Mike Teunissen (Ned) Sunweb
22. Jetse Bol (Ned) Burgos-BH
23. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Movistar
24. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar
25. Aritz Bagues Kalparsoro (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 10:
1. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott in 41:03:00
2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0:01
3. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 0:14
4. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:16
5. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 0:17
6. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 0:24
7. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 0:27
8. Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 0:32
9. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 0:43
10. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 0:47
11. Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 1:08
12. Enric Mas (Spa) Quick-Step Floors at 1:15
13. David De La Cruz (Spa) Sky at 1:26
14. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb at 1:50
15. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky at 2:10
16. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 2:33
17. Rudy Molard (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 2:43
18. Benjamin King (USA) Dimension Data at 3:01
19. Laurens De Plus (Bel) Quick-Step Floors at 3:17
20. Jack Haig (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott at 4:29
21. Jesus Herrada (Spa) Cofidis at 5:04
22. Louis Meintjes (RSA) Dimension Data at 5:27
23. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 5:44
24. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain-Merida at 6:01
25. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 9:08.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.