What's Cool In Road Cycling
Torrelavega - Spain - wielrennen - cycling - cyclisme - radsport - Rohan Dennis (AUS - BMC) pictured during 73rd La Vuelta ciclista a España (2.UWT) Stage 16 from Santillana del Mar to Torrelavega (32 KM) ITT Time Trial Individual - photo LB/RB/Cor Vos © 2018

VUELTA’18 Stage 16: Dennis TT Domination!

Stage Report: Just like the Vuelta a España stage 1, BMC’s Rohan Dennis was the master of the stage 16 time trial, taking 50 seconds out of second placed teammate Joey Rosskopf and Jonathan Castroviejo (Sky), for the win. Overall leader; Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) took time out of most his rivals as Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo) and Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) moved up the GC placings and Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) dropped down.

TT domination again from Rohan Dennis (BMC)

Rohan Dennis (BMC) has established himself as the time-trial king of the 2018 Vuelta with a second stage win on Tuesday. After dominating the opening TT in Malaga, the Australian champ flew on the 32 kilometer course of stage 16, from Santillana del Mar to Torrelavega. BMC teammate Joseph Rosskopf and Jonathan Castroviejo (Sky) came the closest to his 37:57 at 50 seconds. Steven Kruijswijlk (LottoNL-Jumbo) was the fastest of the GC contenders as Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) held onto his red jersey. The British climber gained time on second placed Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) who is now at 33 seconds as Steven Kruijswijk moved to 3rd at 52 and Nairo Quintana (Movistar) is 4th at 1:15.

A top ride from Steven Kruijswijlk (LottoNL-Jumbo) moved him onto the overall podium

Stage 16 from Santillana del Mar to Torrelavega:
It has been 10 years since the last time La Vuelta rode through the cobblestone streets of Santillana del Mar. The Cantabrian locality hosted the 10th stage finish-line of La Vuelta 2006 but this will be its first time hosting a departure. Idyllic natural surroundings, impressive cliffs overlooking the sea and unique architecture have made this municipality a Historical-Artistic complex, an outstanding representative of Romanesque and Renaissance buildings. As a result of its condition as a habitual transit area for travelers, Torrelavega knows how to be a good host. The Cantabrian locality will welcome the riders who will arrive, one by one, during the second time-trial with open arms. This will be its third time hosting an individual time-trial following its experience in 1973, won by Eddy Merckx, and in 2001, won by Columbian rider Santiago Botero.

Fernando Escartín: I.T.T. This is an outline for specialists. The 32,7 km route and the terrain will be perfect for those time-trial specialists who survived the Asturias-Leon triptych to make significant differences to the general classification with regards to the climbers during the final stretch.

Spanish champion, Jonathan Castroviejo (Sky) 3rd place at 50 seconds

Joey Rosskopf (BMC) took 2nd in the same time as Castroviejo

Matthias Brändle (Trek-Segafredo) was first down the start ramp to set a time of 40:16, but Kasper Asgreen (Quick-Step Floors) surprised everyone to post a stunning fast time of 39:07. He held the hot seat for a long time, even European TT champion Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal) couldn’t beat him with a time of 39:15. Eventually Jonathan Castroviejo (Sky) took 20 seconds out of Asgreen for the lead. The Spanish champion was unseated after only three minutes, as Rohan Dennis (BMC) smashed the ride against the clock, flying in with a time of 37:57. The only rider faster than 50km/h.

Rohan Dennis – 50 seconds ahead of 2nd placed teammate; Joey Rosskopf

Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo) was the fastest at the 10km time check, 5 seconds ahead of Rohan Dennis and took 17 seconds on Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and 20 on Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), who also had a fast start. Colombians Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) had both lost 40 seconds to the Dutchman.

Quintana lost time and 3rd place

Valverde now at 33 seconds – But maybe the Movistar team leader?

Kruijswijk gradually lost time on Dennis to eventually records the 4th best time of 38.48. Young Spaniard, Enric Mas (Quick-Step Floors) also had a solid ride of 39 minutes to move up 5th on the general classification. Overall leader, Simon Yates eventually lost 39 to Kruijswijk, but finished 7 seconds ahead of Valverde to increase his lead to 33 seconds as Kruijswijk moved to third at 52 seconds. Nairo Quintana was the loser of the day, now 4th at 1:15.

A strong ride from Yates

Stage winner, Rohan Dennis (BMC): “It was a good little hit out. I tried to control it at the start and finish and make my move in the middle section and it worked out perfectly. I knew I was on a good one just looking at my power on the Garmin. Really, I didn’t know what Kwiatkowski and some of these later guys could do. All I knew was what Castroviejo was doing at that time and he’s a pretty good indicator of if you are doing well or not. But, I think the big performance of the day goes to Joey Rosskopf. He’s the best teammate, easiest guy to be at the back of the bus with, and he got second so I’m really happy for him.”

• Note: Canadian readers can watch the Vuelta LIVE with a subscription at Flobikes.com

Vuelta a España Stage 16 Result:
1. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC in 37:57
2. Joey Rosskopf (USA) BMC at 0:50
3. Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Sky
4. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 0:41
5. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky at 0:51
6. Enric Mas (Spa) Quick-Step Floors at 1:03
7. Nelson Oliveira (Por) Movistar at 1:05
8. Laurens De Plus (Bel) Quick-Step Floors at 1:07
9. Simon Geschke (Ger) Sunweb at 1:10
10. Kasper Asgreen (Den) Quick-Step Floors
11. Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC at 1:17
12. Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Lotto Soudal
13. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:28
14. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 1:29
15. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 1:35
16. David De La Cruz (Spa) Sky at 1:39
17. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb at 1:40
18. Stephen Cummings (GB) Dimension Data at 1:49
19. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal at 1:50
20. Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) BMC at 1:51
21. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:52
22. Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 1:53
23. Jesus Herrada (Spa) Cofidis
24. Martijn Tusveld (Ned) Sunweb at 1:59
25. Benjamin Thomas (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 2:09.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 16:
1. Simon Yates (GB) Mitchelton-Scott in 64:52:58
2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0:33
3. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo at 0:52
4. Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar at 1:15
5. Enric Mas (Spa) Quick-Step Floors at 1:30
6. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana at 1:34
7. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 2:53
8. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida at 4:04
9. Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale at 3:15
10. Tony Gallopin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 4:43
11. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe at 4:48
12. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Sunweb at 7:08
13. Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 8:35
14. Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 10:34
15. Jack Haig (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott at 10:58
16. David De La Cruz (Spa) Sky at 12:01
17. Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe at 13:02
18. Rudy Molard (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 14:53
19. Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Bahrain-Merida at 16:38
20. Mikel Bizkarra Etxegibel (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias at 22:36
21. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar at 24:02
22. Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe at 28:11
23. George Bennett (NZ) LottoNL-Jumbo at 28:46
24. Sergio Henao (Col) Sky at 29:08
25. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Sky at 31:35.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.