What's Cool In Road Cycling

VUELTA’20 Stage 6: Izagirre Strongest Climber on Aramón Formigal

All change in la Vuelta

Vuelta Stage Report: Ion Izagirre (Astana) won the mountain stage to Aramón Formigal in the Vuelta on Sunday. The Astana rider escaped from a group of leaders on the final climb. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) lost time on a stage characterised by bad weather conditions and had to pass the leader’s jersey to Richard Carapaz (INEOS Grenadiers).

A hard fought for win by Ion Izagirre

Stage 6. Biescas > Sallent de Gállego. Aramón Formigal – 146,4km
The climb to Aramón Formigal is one of the most iconic ascents of the Aragón Pyrenees. Aramón Formigal hosted one of the most remarkable cycling races of the decade: the 15th stage of La Vuelta 16. That day, Alberto Contador launched an early attack that ended up costing Chris Froome his chances of overall victory and helping Nairo Quintana’s prospects of triumphing in Madrid. Aramón Formigal has been summit finish of La Vuelta in another four occasions, with victory corresponding to José Manuel ‘Tarangu’ Fuente (1972), Agustín Tamames (1975), Pedro Torres (1977) and Warren Barguil (2013).

Stage 6 profile

In the first part of the new stage through the Aragón region, a sizeable lead group of 23 riders quickly formed shortly after leaving Biescas: Rémi Cavagna (Deceuninck – Quick-Step), Magnus Cort (EF) and Remy Mertz (Lotto Soudal). Not long after, Cavagna took off solo, only to be joined by 22 riders.

A cold start for Primoz Roglič

UAE Team Emirates (Rui Costa, Sergio Henao, Alexandr Riabushenko) and Sunweb (Robert Power, Michael Storer and Jasha Sütterlin) were both represented with three men. Five teams had two men. Astana had Ion Izagirre, Gorka Izagirre at the front, Deceuninck – Quick-Step had Cavagna and Mattia Cattaneo, EF Pro Cycling sent Magnus Cort Nielsen and Michael Woods, Cofidis had Victor Lafay, Pierre Luc Perichon while Movistar was represented with Jorge Arcas and Carlos Verona. The loners Dylan van Baarle (INEOS Grenadiers), Quentin Jauregui (AG2R-La Mondiale), Michael Valgren (NTT Pro Cycling), Jonathan Hivert (Total direct Energie), Julen Amezqueta (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Oscar Cabedo (Burgos-BH) completed the leading group.

jumbo vuelta20
Jumbo-Visma in control

Jumbo-Visma put themselves at the head of the peloton to keep the difference within limits. On the first climb of the day, the Alto de Peralba, Guillaume Martin was first of the leaders. The peloton followed at 3:45. In the run-up to the Alto de Cotefablo, Jumbo-Visma received help from Israel Start-Up Nation.

A horrible day in the saddle

At the top of the second climb of the day it was again Martin who came first. On the descent Gorka Izagirre took off. The Basque was soon half a minute ahead. Primoz Roglič lost contact with the other GC favourites on the way to the final climb, but managed to close the gap.

The ‘Break of the Day’

Izagirre’s lead lingered around 15 seconds, but at 6 kilometres from the top, he was caught by a group of pursuers. Behind; he peloton was in chaos after a battle for the GC. Carapaz drove away from Roglič, after which the Slovenian had to chase.

A day of chasing for Roglič

At 3 kilometers from the finish, Ion Izagirre accelerated at the front of the race. The Basque stayed out of the grip of his pursuers and soloed to victory. After stage victories in the Giro (2012) and the Tour (2016), he has now also completed his collection of Grand Tour stage victories.

Vuelta win for Ion Izagirre

Roglič lost 43 seconds to Carapaz, who will be in the leader’s red jersey after the rest day. The Slovenian droped to fourth place in the standings, half a minute from Carapaz. Hugh Carthy is now second, 18 seconds behind leader Carapaz.

Overall lead for Carapaz

Stage winner, Ion Izagirre (Astana): “It’s a satisfaction to have won stages on the three Grand Tours. Today was a hard day with the weather conditions. We knew it but we also knew tomorrow is a rest day so we started with the idea to give it all. It was a big breakaway, we had three riders and in the end Gorka [Izagirre] attacked on the downhill and he took quite an advantage. I could follow behind. I was a bit too far on some occasions but I had the energy to do it with Gorka’s help. He guided me and he gave me the confidence to finish it. You never know but I went with only 3km to go. It was the hardest section, the stage had been super hard because of the weather and I think we were all on the limit. I saw a bit of hesitation and I decided to give it all until the line.”

Roglič lost the red jersey

Overall leader, Richard Carapaz (Movistar): “First of all it’s a major satisfaction. We’d been working very well for the whole week, we had a strong plan and we went for it. It worked great and this is a reward for the team. I spoke with Andrey [Amador]. We handle things very well in wet conditions, the idea was to go quite fast on the downhill and see how things were for the finale. Several riders were under pressure and it motivated Movistar to pull. I knew the final climb very well and I decided to let the others work if they were interested. And then we’ve seen many attacks. I had chosen my moment and I attacked with the right timing. La Vuelta is still long and we’re going to defend the jersey. It’s a privilege to defend it.”


# Ed Hood’s PEZ ‘First Vuelta Rest Day Rant’ on Monday. #

Vuelta a España Stage 6 Result:
1. Ion Izagirre (Spa) Astana in 3:41:00
2. Michael Woods (Can) EF Pro Cycling at 0:25
3. Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates
4. Robert Power (Aus) Sunweb at 0:27
5. Michael Valgren (Den) NTT Pro Cycling
6. Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis
7. Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 0:38
8. Hugh Carthy (GB) EF Pro Cycling at 0:48
9. Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Astana at 0:53
10. Sergio Henao (Col) UAE Team Emirates at 0:55
11. David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
12. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) INEOS Grenadiers
13. Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar
14. Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) INEOS Grenadiers at 1:02
15. Wout Poels (Ned) Bahrain-McLaren at 1:14
16. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe at 1:21
17. David De la Cruz Melgarejo (Spa) UAE Team Emirates at 1:23
18. Daniel Martin (Irl) Israel Start-Up Nation at 1:23
19. Michael Storer (Aus) Sunweb at 1:37
20. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma at 1:38
21. Clément Champoussin (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:41
22. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:41
23. Gino Mäder (Swi) NTT Pro Cycling at 1:41
24. Nans Peters (Fra) AG2R-La Mondiale at 1:43
25. Mikel Nieve Iturralde (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 1:43.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 6:
1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) INEOS Grenadiers in 24:34:39
2. Hugh Carthy (GB) EF Pro Cycling at 0:18
3. Dan Martin (Irl) Israel Start-Up Nation at 0:20
4. Primož Roglič (Slov) Jumbo-Visma at 0:30
5. Enric Mas (Spa) Movistar at 1:07
6. Felix Großschartner (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe at 1:30
7. Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar at 1:42
8. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott at 2:02
9. David de la Cruz (Spa) UAE Team Emirates at 2:46
10. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 3:00
11. Wout Poels (Ned) Bahrain-McLaren at 3:19
12. Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana at 3:19
13. George Bennett (NZ) Jumbo-Visma at 3:22
14. Mikel Nieve Iturralde (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 3:28
15. Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 3:46
16. David Gaudu (Fra) Groupama-FDJ at 3:47
17. Gino Mäder (Swi) NTT Pro Cycling at 4:04
18. Kenny Elissonde (Fra) Trek-Segafredo at 4:11
19. Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) UAE Team Emirates at 4:28
20. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana at 6:34
21. Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis at 7:15
22. Davide Formolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates at 7:56
23. Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma at 9:54
24. Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana at 10:21
25. Kobe Goossens (Bel) Lotto Soudal at 13:43.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.