What's Cool In Road Cycling

VUELTA’21 Stage 13: Sprinter Sénéchal Stage Victory!

Another sprint for Deceuninck - Quick-Step

Vuelta Stage Report: As expected, stage 13 finishing in Villanueva de la Serena came down to a bunch sprint. Deceuninck – Quick-Step had a perfect lead-out train, but they lost the green jersey of Fabio Jakobsen in the last kilometre. That didn’t matter as Florian Sénéchal did the business for the Wolf Pack. There was no change on the overall.

Stage 13 finalé

Florian Sénéchal was the winner of the thirteenth stage of the Vuelta a España. After a stage of 203.7 kilometres, the Frenchman of Deceuninck – Quick-Step managed to win a split bunch sprint. He was ahead of Matteo Trentin (UAE team Emirates) and Alberto Dainese (DSM). The red leader’s jersey remains on the shoulders of Odd Christian Eiking on the eve of a weekend of climbing.

Stage 13 Profile

Technical director, Fernando Escartín: “Sprinters will fight it out in one of the final flat stages of La Vuelta 21. A very demanding day for teams with sprinters who will have to brave the heat that is characteristic of this part of Extremadura as well as the almost 200 km that make up the route.”

The Burgos-BH team have some new friends at the stage sign-on

vuelta21st13 start
The peloton leaves Belmez and its castle

Diego Rubio (Burgos-BH), Alvaro Cuadros (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Luis Angel Maté (Euskaltel-Euskadi) of the three Spanish wildcard teams made up the break of the day, but their lead was kept within around 2 minutes. Deceuninck – Quick-Step, Groupama-FDJ and DSM were in control of the peloton.

The teams in the break are no surprise – Diego Rubio (Burgos-BH), Alvaro Cuadros (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) and Luis Angel Mate (Euskaltel-Euskadi)

The peloton enters the region of Extremadura

The lead of the three fluctuated between 1:30 and 2:30, but not much else happened. Fabio Jakobsen took his first stage victory in the Vuelta two years ago. On August 27 in 2019 he won the sprint in El Puig and will be looking for his fifth Vuelta stage today.

Extremadura has average annual temperatures warmer than most of the Iberian Peninsula

Some fans didn’t mind the bright sunlight

The peloton woke up when the wind started to cause some problems at 60 kilometres from the finish. Stan Dewulf started the echelons, which split the peloton in two. This didn’t last very long and the break managed to hold off the peloton for a bit longer. The lead was around 40 seconds for a long time, but at 29 kilometres from the finish Rubio, Cuadros and Maté were caught.

The break was never allowed much more than a couple of minutes

Everyone was looking for some shade

The only intermediate sprint of the day was in Don Benito, 13 kilometres out. Apart from green jersey of Fabio Jakobsen, and his teammate, Bert Van Lerberghe, were interested, so all 20 points went to the Deceuninck – Quick-Step sprinter.

Border country between Spain and Portugal, so lots of castles

The break only had 22 seconds at one point due the wind, but it was too soon

The Belgian team took control in the last 3 kilometres and Jakobsen’s lead-out train pulled the peloton into a long line and caused gaps in the twisty final. As the speed ramped up Jakobsen had to let his train go at 1.5 kilometres from the finish and could not compete for the stage win. Only fifteen riders had a chance of winning the stage due to the pace of Deceuninck – Quick-Step in the last kilometre.

Not much water in the reservoir

It was only a matter of time

Sacha Modolo was the first to jump, but he had gone far too early and it turned out to be a sprint battle between Florian Sénéchal and Matteo Trentin. In the slightly uphill finish, the Frenchman was faster than the Italian.

These bike fans were not worried about the sun

There were echelons, but they didn’t cause an upset

The sprint went to the right team, but it was Florian Sénéchal

Stage winner, Florian Sénéchal (Deceuninck – Quick-Step): “We did a perfect lead-out for Fabio [Jakobsen], and he said on the radio: ‘Florian, you can sprint!’ So we waited. Bert van Lerberghe did a superb job, I stayed calm and I gave the maximum in the last 200m. I think Fabio had a flat tyre. I don’t realise yet that I’ve won a Grand Tour stage. It’s crazy. At first, I thought Démare was gonna pass me, or Matthews, I don’t know… But nobody did. I don’t know to thank my teammates. They did a crazy job to put me in the perfect position. A thousand thanks. I am lucky today and I’m very happy for my family, my friends and my wife. It’s a good present.”

The first Grand Tour win for the Frenchman

Odd Christian Eiking held the overall lead – tomorrow?

Overall leader, Odd Christian Eiking (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux): “It was a more hectic finalé than I thought it would be. I knew about the roundabouts but I didn’t know it would be that decisive. I’m happy I didn’t lose too much time. Luckily I had perfect teammates. They did an amazing job towards the end so I just had to follow. There was a small split but without damage for me. I want to try and keep the red jersey tomorrow but it depends mostly on Roglic. If he decides to stand up and go for it, it’s gonna be difficult but if I’m lucky and if I have the legs I can keep fighting for the jersey.”

Vuelta a España Stage 13 Result:
1. Florian Sénéchal (Fra) Deceuninck – Quick-Step in 4:58:23
2. Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
3. Alberto Dainese (Ita) DSM at 0:02
4. Luka Mezgec (Slo) BikeExchange at 0:03
5. Stan Dewulf (Bel) AG2R Citroën
6. Piet Allegaert (Bel) Cofidis
7. Itamar Einhorn (Isr) Israel Start-up Nation
8. Antonio Jesus Soto Guirao (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
9. Rui Oliveira (Por) UAE Team Emirates
10. Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) INEOS Grenadiers at 0:06
11. Alexander Krieger (Ger) Alpecin-Fenix at 0:09
12. Bert Van Lerberghe (Bel) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
13. Sacha Modolo (Ita) Alpecin-Fenix at 0:11
14. Riccardo Minali (Ita) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
15. Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
16. Nico Denz (Ger) DSM
17. Jordi Meeus (Bel) BORA-hansgrohe
18. Felix Grossschartner (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe
19. Adam Yates (GB) INEOS Grenadiers
20. Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Movistar
21. Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious
22. Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
23. Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma
24. Florian Vermeersch (Bel) Lotto Soudal
25. Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo-Visma.

Vuelta a España Overall After Stage 13:
1. Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux in 50:31:52
2. Guillaume Martin (Fra) Cofidis at 0:58
3. Primoz Roglič (Slo) Jumbo-Visma at 1:56
4. Enric Mas Nicolau (Spa) Movistar at 2:31
5. Miguel Angel López Moreno (Col) Movistar at 3:28
6. Jack Haig (Aus) Bahrain Victorious 0:03:55
7. Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) INEOS Grenadiers at 4:41
8. Adam Yates (GB) INEOS Grenadiers at 4:57
9. Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo-Visma at 5:03
10. Felix Großschartner (Aut) BORA-hansgrohe at 5:38
11. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana-Premier Tech at 6:08
12. Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 6:20
13. Gino Mäder (Swi) Bahrain Victorious at 6:54
14. Louis Meintjes (RSA) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux at 7:11
15. David de la Cruz (Spa) UAE Team Emirates at 7:15
16. Juan Pedro Lopez Perez (Spa) Trek-Segafredo at 10:03
17. Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 13:37
18. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Jumbo-Visma at 15:33
19. Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain Victorious at 17:49
20. Rémy Rochas (Fra) Cofidis at 21:58
21. Geoffrey Bouchard (Fra) AG2R Citroën at 25:48
22. Rafal Majka (Pol) UAE Team Emirates at 27:42
23. Carlos Verona Quintanilla (Spa) Movistar at 28:06
24. Martijn Tusveld (Ned) DSM at 33:57
25. Fabio Aru (Ita) Qhubeka NextHash at 35:32.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.