What's Cool In Road Cycling

Vuelta Stage 5 Stage 5 Soria – Zaragoza-

Stage 5 Soria – Zaragoza

It was a windy, sunny day for the 190 riders in the 5th stage of this year’s Vuelta and while the peloton battled, Alessandro Petacchi of Fassa Bortolo took another win. He finished the 166.7km course in 3:19:26 averaging a blistering 50.15 km/h just ahead of Angel Edo (Milaneza-MSS) and with Julian Dean (CSC) and Erik Zabel (Telekom) each 2 seconds back

The day unfolded with an early break at 8km, with riders from Saeco, Relax-Fuenlabrada, Lampre, and Rabobank pushing ahead. Upon reaching the town of Matalebreras at the 52km mark, the lead gap had swollen to 3’37 and by km 82.2 the gap was over 6 minutes ahead of the peloton. Josй Luis Martнnez (Paternina-Costa de Almerнa) had made a charge at the leaders, but never managed to catch the leaders, only to be returned to the pack at km 105, as the strong ONCE-Eroski and Fassa Bortolo teams took control and decided to close the gap, riding a tempo up front. The pack briefly broke into three, with crosswinds causing some problems, but mostly managed to regroup, finally catching the early break with only 16km to go. With a crash on a corner with less than a km to go (Alessandro Cortinovis and David Latasa) created some space for Petacchi to lead to the finish.

Spain’s Isidro Nozal (ONCE-Eroski) is again in the leaders jersey for the second day, with a lead of 2 seconds.


1 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 3.19.26 (50.15 km/h)
2 Angel Edo (Spa) Milaneza-MSS
3 Julian Dean (NZl) Team CSC 0.02
4 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Telekom
5 Antonio Bucciero (Ita) Team Saeco
6 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Saunier Duval-Vini Caldirola
7 Angelo Furlan (Ita) Alessio
8 Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre
9 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
10 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank
11 Giovanni Lombardi (Ita) Domina Vacanze-Elitron
12 David Etxebarria (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
13 Luis Perez (Spa) Cofidis, Le Crйdit par Tйlйphone
14 Gianpaolo Mondini (Ita) Domina Vacanze-Elitron
15 Cristian Moreni (Ita) Alessio
16 Carlos Torrent (Spa) Paternina-Costa de Almeria
17 Ivan Herrero (Spa) Labarca-2-Cafй Baquй
18 Max van Heeswijk (Ned) US Postal-Berry Floor
19 Angel Vicioso (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
20 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.