What's Cool In Road Cycling

Vuelta’08 St.3: Bang Bam Boonen Tops In Cordoba!

Race Report: It took three stages, but the third time was the proverbial charm in Spain for a field sprint. The aiming of the respective missiles at the finish line was anything but simple, however, as some big names had some big go’s. The missiles had their day though, and Tommeke’s struck first.

Manuel Ortega thumbed his nose at the field today and left to play on his own…and play he did for a long, long time all by his lonesome.

Behind, the field didn’t want to play with Manuel anyway, so they let him run far, far up the road.

Manuel Ortega took full advantage of his playday out front and rampaged out to a quarter hour advantage before timecards started being punched back in the field and the toys tucked safely away for another day.

On the final climb with 20 or so kilometers to go, the boys were ready for some heavy breathing and painful pedaling.

Paolo Bettini had stage glory on his mind today, and his effort up the category three climb was quite nice.

Whilst Paolo Bettini couldn’t quite get the dice to tumble his way, his teammate, Tom Boonen, laid down a fine hand (see, Paolo was playing the wrong game today), and put Bennati to shame.

Ortega was tired after the race. Really, he was.

Bust out the bubbly boys, because I’m back on top in a Grand Tour!

And I get the Gold Jersey too!

Wait, no I don’t. Daniele Bennati took the overall lead after Stage 3. The whole Boonen thing was a tiny mistake.

Stage 3 Results
1. Tom Boonen, (BEL) Quick Step in 4:25:24
2. Daniele Bennati, (ITA) Liquigas at s.t.
3. Erik Zabel, (GER) Milram at s.t.
4. Larrea, Koldo Fdez De (ESP) Euskaltel-Euskadi at s.t.
5. Nicolas Roche, (IRL) Credit Agricole at s.t.
6. Greg Van Avermaet, (BEL) Silence-Lotto at s.t.
7. Leonardo Duque, (COL) Cofidis at s.t.
8. Sйbastien Hinault, (FRA) Credit Agricole at s.t.
9. Tom Stamsnijder, (NED) Gerolsteiner at s.t.
10. Lloyd Mondory, (FRA) Ag2r La Mondiale at s.t.

General Classification After Three Stages
1. Daniele Bennati, (ITA) Liquigas in 8:56:27
2. Alejandro Valverde, (ESP) Caisse d’Epargne at 7
3. Tom Boonen, (BEL) Quick Step at 10
4. Filippo Pozzato, (ITA) Liquigas at 20
5. Egoi MartНnez, (ESP) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 22
6. Davide Rebellin, (ITA) Gerolsteiner at 26
7. Iсigo Landaluze, (ESP) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 26
8. Erik Zabel, (GER) Milram at 27
9. Mauricio Ardila, (COL) Rabobank at 27
10. Igor Anton, (ESP) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 28

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.