What's Cool In Road Cycling

John’s 1991 GP of the Americas Photo Gallery

PeloPics: PEZ photographer, John Thomson, has been going through his old photo files again, this time to put together his GP of the Americas gallery. The Grand Prix des Amériques was a one-day race in Montreal and was part of the UCI Road World Cup with a fine list of winners.

John Thomson introduces his GP of the Americas photo gallery: “The GP of the Americas ran from 1988 to 1991 and then became the Grand Prix Teleglobe in 1992. This was my first big pro race, so as a young cycling photographer seeing all the great stars like Kelly, Lemond, Bauer and the top European riders was a big deal. The Montreal course is great for shooting because they do many laps and the weather could be torrential rain one minute then blazing sun the next which gives you a nice variety of shooting conditions. The Quebec GP is a beautiful race also and I will be doing a “best of” Quebec City and Montreal in the near future.”

van der poel
Adrie van der Poel finished 8th on the famous Montreal circuit

Sean Kelly in the year he won the Tour of Lombardy

Claudio Chiappucci in the year he won Milan-San Remo

Steve Bauer won in Montreal in 1988

Sean Kelly in the wet and cold conditions

Alex Zulle first year pro at very far left with his famous glasses

Greg Lemond won his last Tour de France in the previous year

Charly Mottet, Tony Rominger, Laurent Jalabert and Maurizio Fondriest in the bunch

Claudio Chiappucci and Marc Madiot in the year he won Paris Roubaix

Steven Rooks Dutch National Champion finished 2nd

fondriest rooks
World Cup leader Maurizio Fondriest and Steven Rooks

otto lauritzen early
Dag Otto Lauritzen and 3rd place rider Martin Earley

van lancker
Eric Van Lancker beats Steven Rooks to the finish line

van lancker
The happy winner

americas podium rooks van lancker early
Final podium of Van Lancker, Rooks and Earley

You can read the PEZ interview with the winner of the 1991 GP of the Americas, Eric Van Lancker HERE.

Grand Prix des Amériques Winners:
1988: Steve Bauer (Can) Weinmann-La Suisse-SMM
1989: Jörg Müller (Sui) PDM–Concorde
1990: Franco Ballerini (Ita) Del Tongo
1991: Eric Van Lancker (Bel) Panasonic-Sportlife
1992: Federico Echave (Spa) CLAS-Cajastur.

# You can see more John Thomson photo galleries HERE. #

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what's cool in road cycling?

Comments are closed.